War Has Been Declared

IMG_2128

And I don’t need Congressional approval to do so.

A rather pesky squirrel has been relentlessly attacking my corn seedlings. I’ve replaced countless seedlings. This destruction has forced me to net the raised bed containing the corn and to deploy a rodent-be-gone bitter spray around the raised bed. It took a while to find a product that wasn’t deadly to domestic animals. So far this week, I’ve seen no more damage to the crops and managed to harvest a handful of beans from this bed. I’m attempting a ‘Three Sisters’ growing method where you plant corn, squash and pole beans along one another. The three plants are complimentary to each other; the corn provides structure for the pole beans to climb, the pole bean roots add nitrogen to the soil that the corn needs for its growth, and the squash provides ground cover to prevent weeds from growing.

Sounds dishy doesn’t it? I’ve wanted to try this Indian technique in the garden and I will NOT allow the actions of a marauding squirrel to thwart me.

Stay tuned, this story is just getting started…

Leave a Reply

