2011 Philadelphia Donor Dash Race Recap

2011 Philadelphia Donor Dash

A brisk, sunny Sunday greeted participants of the 2011 Philadelphia Donor Dash. Hundreds of runners gathered to run a 5K or 10K race on West River Drive. The scenery was spectacular, the course flat and fast; in fact it was the same course for the Get Your Rear in Gear 5K /10K held in March of this year. The Schuylkill river was quite angry-looking after the deluge of rain on the previous day

Angry Schuylkill River

This was my first 10K race since October 2010 and I am happy to report I set a PR for this 10K, beating my last time by nearly 10 minutes. Still have work to do on my splits, but I am extremely pleased with this result. On my way back to the car, I snapped this photo looking towards Boathouse Row – prettiness all around.

Looking Towards Boat House Row

Race impressions:

  • Good decision in starting the 5K participants 20 minutes before the 10K participants.
  • Great location for the run itself on picturesque West River Drive.
  • Had no pre-race jitters at all, just focused on stretching and people watching. Leap frogged two groups of runners during the race.
  • I was delighted to see a hand washing station at snack tent post race.
One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

