The Little Garden That Could – PHS City Garden Contest Winner!

I nearly dropped my ipod. I gasped as I read the letter.  Had the new kid on the block done the impossible? Yes, Yes, Yes!!!  A rookie gardener snags a prestigious gardening win!

2010 PHS Winner Letter

Wasn’t really expecting this and have not prepared a formal acceptance speech.  This garden is a labor of love and I’m ecstatic to have achieved this recognition in my first year of ‘real’ gardening.

I want to take this opportunity thank the judges who gave this garden a chance; the lovely staff at Feeney’s for their patience and advice; the family for pitching in; and thank you mother nature for working with me in turning a neglected yard into a delightful space.

Thank You!!

All I can say is Happy Gardening and onward to next year!

An award ceremony is planned during PHS Fall Festival

September 11, 2010
11 am – 4 pm
Rain or Shine
Philadelphia Navy Yard

Music, food, plants, shopping, workshops, gardening tips, children‘s activities and more—it’s all part of the PHS Fall Garden Festival at the Philadelphia Navy Yard. Formerly known as Members’ Day, the event is expanding in 2010 to be better than ever.

Admission is free and open to the public.

Click on this link to view a Flickr slide show of my gardening journey.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations awesome

    Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tania Gail, Tania. Tania said: The Little Garden That Could – 2010 PHS City Garden Contest Winner – http://wp.me/pUcim-4Q @PHS_Gardening #philly […]

    Reply

  3. “greening efforts?”

    Oh my! I won’t say what I think of that.

    Reply

  4. […] delving the world of organic vegetable gardening  and subsequently winning a city wide garden contest, there is a push to raise the bar in 2011. I’ve always needed a goal to focus my activities, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

